Beaumont Trophy Event Information

Click to view
Click to view
Click to view
Click to view
Click to view
Click to view
Click to view
The Beaumont Trophy was first run in 1952, the year after the Gosforth Road Club was formed. It was presented by Rex Beaumont, a cycle and motorcycle wholesaler based in Newcastle. The first edition of the race was won by Stan Blair riding for Viking Cycles and started and finished in Gosforth Park where the club had it's headquarters.
In the next 61yrs the race has been won by many famous riders including Bradley Wiggins, Chris Newton, Russell and Dean Downing, Malcolm Elliott and Don Sanderson to name but a few. The most prolific winner of the Trophy is Ray Wetherell who has won it 5 times. Bradley Wiggins has won it twice, once as National Champion in 2011.
The race has been a British Cycling Premier Calendar event for the past 7 years and has now gone up in status for 2014 as it becomes a UCI 1.2 event in 2014. There are only 4 UCI Road Races in the UK in 2014.
The race is centred around the village of Stamfordham and takes in the fearsome climb of the Ryals where Team Sky launched their attack that resulted in Wiggins winning the National RR title in 2011. The day will be a full day of entertainment for all the family with lots on offer for all spectators. Expect to see some of the top riders in the World out training on the Saturday if you are competing in one of the Challenge rides. 
Overseas riders will be invited to the event as it is a UCI event. Some of these Teams will be European Tour teams and may contain some famous Continental riders. Invites are being sent out to various overseas teams as well the British National Development U23 Team 
Race HQ will be Stamfordham Village Hall where there will be refreshments for spectators and toilet facilities. The two Pubs in Stamfordham and the Black Bull in Matfen will also be offering refreshments for spectators. There will be a Trade Village on the village green in Stamfordham offering lots of entertainment throughout the day.
Spectators will not be allowed to park in Stamfordham and will be directed to designated parking areas outside the village. More details will be given in the programme and parking areas will be signposted.
The race will be subject to a rolling road closure which will be under the control of the Central Police Escort Team and the National Escort Group. There will be delays and all spectators are urged not to attempt to drive around the course unnecessarily.
The race will start at 1.00pm and will be a combination of two circuits. The larger circuit is 22.3mls and includes the climb of the Ryals which will be tackled 4 times by the riders. The smaller circuit is 13.9 mls and this will be tackled twice. The race will start with one lap of the smaller circuit before going on to complete 4 laps of the larger circuit and then finish with a final lap of the small circuit. Total distance 117mls (187km).
The race will be open to the following:
UCI Professional Continental Teams registered in the UK
UCI Continental Teams
National Teams
Regional and club Teams
The maximum number of riders per team will be 8 and a team must start with a minimum of 5 (UCI 2.2.003) 

In connection with

Download Problems?
When downloading PDF files you will need Adobe Acrobat PDF Reader installed to view these files. click logo below for more details.
 Some of the files contained within this website are in PDF format.  (Please note that you will need Adobe Acrobat PDF Reader to view these files. To find out how to download Adobe Acrobat PDF Reader click here)